Confidence.

Confidence is what I am gonna speak to you guys about. I was not going to post anything today but then I saw a tweet from a certain person that just lacked all confidence and you could tell the person sorry for themselves and apathetic. That type of attitude is what bothers me. You have to have confidence in yourself..because frankly if you don’t have confidence in yourself, who else can? I am a very confident individual currently; in fact to some people my confidence comes off as cockiness, which isn’t an image I want to paint.

I was never as confident as I am right now. Hell my freshman year I thought i was the ugliest kid out there lol. I was about the same height, couldn’t lift a marshmallow on a stick.  “Silence All Doubters” helped me get as confident as I am right now.

Now you guys may be thinking, Willy is only describing physical issues right now. So is outside looks really all that matters when it comes to confidence? The answer to that is a resounding NO.

“No, I am not a product knock off, back stock, last option, I’m a full thought process, defined hypothesis a why not, who, how, what if
I’m always thinking how it’s all about confidence, cause if you’re thinking negative than by god it is. what you thinking ’bout it turns it in to how you live”

Those Lyrics come from Asher Roth’s Song Confidence from his Sear Foie Gras with Quince and Cranberries mixtape. Look at these lyrics, not once in these lyrics does Asher mention look at physical features to describe confidence. Confidence is self worth and self worth comes from within.  Asher says I’m a full thought process – what I think he is saying right here is that you aren’t something that was just scribbled out in a notepad in this roller coaster we call life. You were thought out and carefully designed. I am a firm believer that EVERYONE has some type of talent and higher calling, its just up to them to find a way to utilize it. ( except for Snooki and The Khardashians).  I see to many people, especially young females validate themselves by their ability to gain a significant other. That is not the way to go, trust me when i say it is tough not to validate yourself by that, I have moments when i’m like “Damn, i’m still single I must not be worth anything.”

Those are the kind of poisonous thoughts that can destroy ones’ confidence.  It’s not what people value as, its what you value yourself at.  Why devalue yourself? You’re alive aren’t you? That is one reason to have confidence.  You may not be the smartest kid out there, you may not be the fastest, the coolest, the best dressed, the funniest, the best looking or even the most average kid out there. But there is something that  you are….. you are you. And who else can do that better than you?  You are creating your own story, leaving behind your own legacy cause when it all falls down, that’s all you leave behind is a legacy. Have some pride and make sure you leave behind the best legacy you can.

Like Lil Wayne said “i’m richer than all yall i got a bank full of pride”.   If you have your pride and your confidence, who can ever make you feel unworthy?

So get out there and try your best in everything and be confident. It’s not easy but believe in yourself and the yield could surprise you.

I only hope this means something to at least someone.

P.S. – Humility is also a trait of Confidence. So be humble. ( More on humility later)

– Confident

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a comment